This game provides examples of:

July 19, 2016 – 10:38 pm

Each night, I went to sleep wishing that this would turn out to be a nightmare.
Yet each morning I awoke to find that the world was just as horribly warped as it was the day before.
I have to live while blending in, while acting like one of them. Just as I've done these past three months, I will continue to do for the rest of my life.

A Visual Novel / H-Game by Nitro+, Saya no Uta ("Song of Saya") revolves around a medical school student, Fuminori Sakisaka. Before the main plot, he was involved in a car accident which killed both his parents. He was saved, however, by an experimental brain surgery... which just happened to drastically alter his perception of the world. Everything now appears to him as if it were made from guts, slime, and gore.Well, almost everything.One night while still in the hospital, a girl dressed in white appears before him. To him she appears completely normal, and above that, downright beautiful. Rather than consider the why of this, he latches onto her as his reason to keep living, and convinces her to move in with him once he's released from the hospital.The more things go on, however, the more Fuminori withdraws from the rest of his life. His friends become increasingly worried for his sake, including Yoh Tsukuba, who has had a crush on him since before the accident. His doctor, Ryoko Tanbo, still has the impression that there's something he's not telling her... This is true enough; out of fear of becoming a lab experiment, Fuminori never told her (or anyone save Saya) about the way he now sees the world. Finally, there is his search for information on Professor Ougai. All these things and the decision on whether Fuminori wants to be normal interact to drive the plot forward.
  • Adult Fear: Pretty much all characters in the Visual Novel meet horrible endings, but for this trope in particular, Yousuke is the primary example and arguably the only one worthy of feeling sorry for. A doting family man has his life suddenly thrown into hell after Saya gives him a "new" way to see things, from there on the otherwise upstanding citizen goes apeshit insane brutaly killing his wife and daughter out of pure horror everything in the world has become in his mind, and even enjoys it in a very twisted way, and as if this wasn't excruciating painful enough Yousuke's mind deranges so much that after he meets Saya again, with she now being the only person he can see in human form, the first thing in his agenda is to viciously rape her. A true nightmare - no, better yet - a night terror to any decent family man out there.
  • Adaptation Decay: The American comic book of Saya no Uta takes some... "creative" directions with the plot. Fuminori is changed to a more "American" name (Josh), Saya is no longer Cthulhu, but rather the result of secret government experiments. We are shown Saya's true form at the end of the first comic, despite never actually seeing it in the original story— which is arguably scarier than actually knowing. Saya is also "aged up" to a less controversial body in Josh's eyes. While she was almost a child in the H-game, she's now about 18 physically.
  • Aliens Speaking Japanese: Saya learned it from Dr. Ougai.
  • Beneath the Mask: Dr. Tanbo. On the job, she's a kind, friendly doctor, albeit a bit secretive.
  • Betty and Veronica: Shy, hesitant Yoh is Betty, malicious and beautiful yet cute looking Saya is Veronica. Can be turned the other way around if all you look at is their body, though.
  • Big Damn Heroes: When Dr. Tanbo saves Kouji from the well.
  • Black Speech: Fuminori's hearing sense, along with all his other senses, is also warped: all voices but Saya's sound to him distorted, with weird frequency changes and other sounds hard to describe. This visual novel is dubbed, so we sometimes get to hear those voices as he hears them.
  • A different example we can also hear, later in the story: when Oumi breaks into Fuminori house, how do you think she hears Saya's "Welcome home!"
  • Body Horror: Happens to Yoh when Saya transforms her into the same being as herself. Then in one of the endings to everyone in the world.
  • Source: tvtropes.org

    EZOPower EZOPower 6A 30W 3in1 Multi function 4 Port USB 2.0 HUB Desktop Charger Station with OTG Support and 1 power charge USB Port
    Personal Computer (EZOPower)
    • 4-Port charger maximum output:6A, with 1 super charging port at 2.1A, 3 usb port at 1A output
    • 3 USB Port is also function as a hub for keyboard, mouse, cooler, USB drive and more
    • Transform from standard computer usb hub into OTG function Hub with a quick connection and reconnection of cable
    • The docking station has a build in stand so that you can watch videos on your smartphone or tablet while charging it.
    • Plug and play function,no driver needed.

    You might also like:

    Saya no Uta ~The Song of Saya~ #1 - Visual Novel Corner☆
    Saya no Uta ~The Song of Saya~ #1 - Visual Novel Corner☆
    Saya no Uta ~The Song of Saya~ #3 - Visual Novel Corner☆
    Saya no Uta ~The Song of Saya~ #3 - Visual Novel Corner☆
    Visual Novel Review - Saya no Uta
    Visual Novel Review - Saya no Uta
    iKross iKross Rotation Car Mount Backseat Headrest Tablet Mount Holder for 7 to 10.2 inch Tablet PC / iPad
    Personal Computer (iKross)
    • Best headrest mounting solution for tabletS including Apple iPad 2,3,4, iPad Air, iPad Air 2, iPad Mini 4,3,2,1, Samsung Galaxy Tab, Tab S, Galaxy Note 10.1 and...
    • Easily attach & secure headrest mount on car seat without tools
    • Adjust the flexible arm any way you would like to suit your needs.
    • Extra-firm padded arm absorbs vibration and provide stable viewing platform
    • Fit tablets with 7 ~ 10.2 inch tablets
    iKross 6ft 3.5mm Jack jacket Stereo Auxiliary Aux Audio Cable + 3.5mm Plug to Dual Mic/audio 3.5mm Smartphone Headset to PC Adapter for iPhone iPod Smartphone Cellphone Tablets - Black/Blue
    Wireless (iKross)
    • 6 Feet High Fidelity Tangle-Free Nylon Braided Sleeve Jacket 3.5mm Audio Cable
    • Double Shielded Design Offers Extra Durability. Crisp and Natural Stereo Sound
    • 3.5mm Male to Male Gold Plated Connectors for Smooth, Corrosion-Free Connections
    • Ideal for Smartphones, MP3 Players or Tablet Connects Directly to Your Car or Home Audio System and any Component with a 3.5mm Auxiliary Jack!
    • Package Includes: 1x iKross Black/Blue 6 Feet Stereo Audio AUX Stereo Braided Sleeve Jacket Cable Cord, 1x EZOPower One 3.5mm Plug (Female) to Dual Mic/Audio 3.5mm...
    Modern Fantasy Modern Fantasy Blue Pendant Gold And Copper Plated Ancient Style Silver Earring
    Jewelry (Modern Fantasy)
    • Fashion accessory
    • Ancient style
    • Display of individuality
    • Girls likes
    • Easy match
    iKross 3 in 1 Universal Fish Eye + Wide Angle + Macro Clip On Phone Camera Lens Kit For iPhone 6 4.7, 6 Plus 5.5, Samsung Galaxy S6, Galaxy S6 Edge, Galaxy S5, Galaxy Note, HTC One M9 Smartphone and more
    Photography (iKross)
    • Universal detachable clamp design with Fisheye lens, wide angle lens and macro lens 3 in 1 feature
    • Easy to install, just clip the lens with your devices.
    • The Fisheye lens captures approximately a 180 Degree field-of-view and enjoy unrealistic fish-eye world of images, without the black circle
    • The Wide-Angle lens is great for when you need that extra field of view. The Macro lens can make you take picture of a tiny object clearly in the detail.
    • Compatible with most of the Smartphone and iPhone, iPad, Android Tablets

    Related posts:

    1. Visual novels with lots of choices
    2. Visual novels with an ESRB Rating
    3. Visual novels dub
    4. Visual novels on Android
    5. Visual novels like Clannad
    • avatar I want to read novels like they're visual novels! Without making them visual or anything. - apps books text | Ask MetaFilter
      • Hmm, for clarification, I have neither iOS nor Android, so web or Windows apps only. Do throw in any mobile suggestions you have though, I can probably use them as starting points to search for alternatives. :)
        Watchbook looks really cool, by the way, I wish I had an iPhone!